Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

2009 - Awards For Student Work Crown Awards - Collegiate Recipients

CSPA presents the 2009 Collegiate Crown Awards

NEW YORK, NY - The Columbia Scholastic Press Association announced its top awards for collegiate publications at the 31st annual College Media Convention. 

This year 1,795 magazines, newspapers, yearbooks and online publications of the current CSPA members were eligible to enter the Crown Awards. Judging for printed publications took place at Columbia University from December 13-15, 2008 by the Board of Crown Judges. Publications were judged on writing/editing, design, content, concept, photography, art and graphics. Online news media were judged at Columbia in February 2009.

Ten college magazines, three newspapers, four online newspapers, and three yearbooks received Gold Crown Awards while 17 other college publications received the second highest CSPA award, known as the Silver Crown. Gold Crowns have been presented annually since 1982, and Silver Crowns have been given since 1984. 

The Awards Convocation took place at The Marriott Marquis Times Square, West 45th Street and Broadway Avenue, New York City on Saturday, March 15th at 3 p.m.

Edmund J. Sullivan, director of the CSPA, presented plaques to those winners attending the Convention. Remaining awards will be mailed to winners beginning March 30th.

The CSPA is an international student press association uniting student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges and award programs. Owned by Columbia University since 1925 and operated as a program of its Graduate School of Journalism, the Association offers three major services: 1) annual competitions and awards for members, including the Crown Awards, 2) planning two conventions (one national, one regional) and a week-long summer workshop at Columbia, plus 3) small press publishing activities to support an e-zine and one to two books per year.

   The judging panel included: Leah Bailey, associate art director, Cigar Aficionado magazine, New York, NY; Peter Bobkowski, instructor and former adviser, Chapel Hill, NC; Bobby Hawthorne, author and former director of ILPC, Austin, TX; Monica Hill, director, North Carolina Scholastic Media Association, Chapel Hill, NC; Jennifer Johnson Hicks, online editor, (Wall Street Journal online), New York, NY; Dave Johnson, instructor and author, New York, NY; Mark Murray, coordinator of technology systems, Arlington Independent School District, Arlington, TX; C. Bruce Watterson, former chief communications officer, The Darlington School, Rome, GA; and David Wiegand, retired adviser, Wausau, WI. (Individual affiliations of the members of the judging panel are for identification purposes only.)

For further information, contact the CSPA directly.

Download Photos

TO DOWNLOAD PHOTO: click on your photo; to the right is a black bar, click the icon with three dots (it activates more actions). Scroll down to 'Download/All Sizes' and release. Choose the size you want to download.

Click here for the photos of from the 2009 CSPA Collegiate Crown Awards Ceremony on March 15, 2009 in New York City.


College Magazine Gold Crowns

American River Review, American River College, Sacramento, CA;
Dollars & Sense, Baruch College, New York, NY;
Flux Magazine, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR;
Hair Trigger 30, Columbia College, Chicago, IL;
Rebel, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC;
Sanskrit, University of North Carolina - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC;
Signatures, Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, NY;
The Bridge, Bridgewater State College, Bridgewater, MA;
The Huron River Review, Washtenaw Community College, Ann Arbor, MI;
Windhover, North Carolina State University Raleigh, NC.


College Newspaper Gold Crowns

Indiana Daily Student (Fall 07), Indiana University, Bloomington, IN;
Indiana Daily Student (Spring 08), Indiana University, Bloomington, IN;
The Daily Pennsylvanian (Spring 08), University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA.


College Digital Newspaper Gold Crowns

Daily Collegian Online,, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA;
OU Daily Online,, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK;
The Daily Pennsylvanian Online,, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA;
The Ithacan Online,, Ithaca College, Ithaca, NY.


College Yearbook Gold Crowns

Agromeck, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC;
Royal Purple, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS;
Sooner/Crimson Traditions, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK.


College Magazine Silver Crowns

Grub Street, Towson University, Towson, MD;
Magazine World,  Humber College, Toronto, Ontario, Canada;
The Torch, Union University, Jackson, TN.


College Newspaper Silver Crowns

Daily News (Fall 07), Ball State University, Muncie, IN;
Daily News (Spring 08), Ball State University, Muncie, IN;
Iowa State Daily (Fall 07),  Iowa State University, Ames, IA;
Iowa State Daily (Spring 08), Iowa State University, Ames, IA;
The Daily Collegian (Fall 07), The Pennsylvania State University, State College, PA;
The Ithacan (Spring 08), Ithaca College, Ithaca, NY.


College Digital Newspaper Silver Crowns

Iowa State Daily Online,, Iowa State University, Ames, IA;
The Miami Hurricane Online,, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL.


College Yearbook Silver Crowns

Aggieland, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX;
Arbutus, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN;
Ibis, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL;
Selah, Liberty University, Lynchburg, VA;
Talisman, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY;
The Razorback, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR.