Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

2018 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year Announced


The Columbia Scholastic Press Association is pleased to announce Tom Gayda as the 2018 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year.

Gayda, a journalism teacher and director of student media at North Central High School at Indianapolis, IN, was selected from among 14 teachers nominated nationally.

The National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year program is administered by Columbia Scholastic Press Association and cosponsored by the Dow Jones News Fund with further support from The Poynter Institute and The Wall Street Journal.

In addition to the Teacher of the Year, four Distinguished Advisers and one Special Recognition Adviser were also named. The Distinguished Advisers are Erin Castellano, Clayton (Missouri) High School; Mark Harrison, T.C. Roberson High School, Asheville, NC; James Miller, duPont Manual High School, Louisville, KY and Matthew Smith, Fond du Lac (Wisconsin) High School.

The Special Recognition Adviser is Kate Plows, Malvern Preparatory School, Malvern, PA.

The selection panel for the honors included: Lori Keekley, 2016 Teacher of the Year from St. Louis Park (Minnesota) High School; Mark Goodman, Knight Chair in Scholastic Journalism at Kent (Ohio) State University; Linda Shockley, managing director, Dow Jones News Fund; Edmund J. Sullivan, Executive Director, Columbia Scholastic Press Association and Laura Widmer, Executive Director, National Scholastic Press Association

“The CSPA is honored to be the new administrators of the National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year program, continuing the rich history of excellence created and maintained since 1960 by the Dow Jones News Fund, which continues as an active cosponsor. We are grateful to the Poynter Institute and The Wall Street Journal for their further support,” said Sullivan.

The presentation of plaques will be at the upcoming CSPA 94th annual CSPA Spring Convention on Thursday, March 15, 2018. A special Luncheon in The Rotunda of Low Library on the Columbia campus will include the presentations. After the Luncheon Ed Sullivan will interview Tom Gayda. Other honorees will participate in a panel discussion immediately after the Luncheon.

Founded in 1925, the Columbia Scholastic Press Association unites student editors and faculty advisers working with them who produce student newspapers, magazines, yearbooks and online media. Students come from public, private and church-related schools and colleges throughout the United States and from overseas schools following an American plan of education. The Association is owned and operated by Columbia University.

The Dow Jones News Fund is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that promotes careers in journalism in the digital age. Our vision is robust news media staffed by well-trained, innovative journalists who reflect America’s diversity and are dedicated to a free, strong and fair press. The News Fund is supported by Dow Jones, Dow Jones Foundation, other media companies and private donations.

The Poynter Institute for Media Studies is a non-profit school for journalism located in St. Petersburg, Florida. The school is the owner of The Tampa Bay Times newspaper.

The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City.