Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

2017 Board of Judges

Kathy Daly teaches at workshops and conventions around the country. The yearbooks she advised at Overland High School won CSPA Gold and Silver Crowns and NSPA Pacemakers multiple times. In 1998, she was selected as JEA's Yearbook Adviser of the Year. Over her career, she also received the CSPA Gold Key and NSPA Pioneer Award as well as the JEA Medal of Merit and Lifetime Achievement Award. She is also a professional portrait photographer in Denver, CO.

Nancy Hastings is a retired adviser of the Paragon yearbook and Crier newspaper at Munster High School in Munster, IN, where she advised both for 38 years. Her publications have earned numerous honors including Gold and Silver Crowns, NSPA Pacemakers, Quill and Scroll Gallups, and Indiana High School Press Association Hoosier Stars. The former 1997 National Yearbook Adviser of the Year, she has received an NSPA Pioneer Award, CSPA Gold Key, the Ella Sengenberger Indiana Journalism Teacher of the Year, and JEA Lifetime Achievement Award. Currently serving as Indiana's JEA State Director, she has been inducted into Ball State University's Journalism Hall of Fame.

Monica Hill is director of the NCSMA, which is based in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She previously directed the Alabama Scholastic Press Association at the University of Alabama and was a copy editor at The Birmingham News.

Kevin Lerner is an assistant professor of journalism at Marist College in Poughkeepsie, New York. His scholarly research concentrates on the history of American journalism, with a focus on the 1970s, alternative forms of journalism, press criticism, and anti-intellectualism in the press. He is completing a book on the history of [MORE], an anti-establishment journalism review. He has published chapters in books published by Peter Lang and the University of Pennsylvania Press and in the journal Journalism History. He has published journalism in New York magazine, The New York Times, Slate, and Nieman Lab, and has served as a judge for the National Magazine Awards. He holds a BA from the University of Pennsylvania, a master’s degree from the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, and a Ph.D. in Journalism and Media Studies from Rutgers University. He grew up in Arlington, Texas, where he edited the Gold Crown winning literary arts magazine élan.

Lauren Mack is a multimedia journalist who writes about travel, food, and drink for, (where she is the New York City Travel Editor), and En Voyage. She is also the Social Media Coordinator, Admissions at St. Francis College in Brooklyn, NY. A freelance journalist for 20 years, Lauren's writing on travel, food, Chinese culture, architecture, news, and more has appeared in dozens of online and print publications, including Time Out, Newsweek International, City Weekend, Taipei Times,, and Sun-Sentinel. She has edited and written travel guidebooks on Beijing, Shanghai, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei, Miami, and New York for Zagat, Time Out, GuidePal, and Explorer Publishing. She has traveled to 45 countries and counts Beijing and Taipei, two cities where she lived for many years, as favorites. Lauren has a master's degree in journalism from Columbia Journalism School.

Alan Murray is the President and co-founder of Uncharted, an entrepreneurial venture focused on people, culture, and travel.  An award-winning photographer, journalist and editor, his work has included assignments such as the Olympics, NCAA tournaments, and long-term multimedia documentary work. He was awarded public service honors for his work covering organ donation issues. He also works as a project management, media, and leadership consultant. Murray resides in the Philadelphia, Pennsylvania area.

Mark Murray is director of technical services and systems integration for Arlington Independent School District in Arlington, TX.  He also serves as the executive director of the Association of Texas Photography.  He is a frequent presenter at conferences and workshops around the country, including the CSPA and JEA/NSPA conferences, Carolina Journalism Institute and Dallas County Publication Workshop. During his tenure as photography instructor at Lamar High School in Arlington, he was one of the advisers to élan, Lamar's literary/art magazine, a Pacemaker and Silver Crown winner.  He received a Gold Key from CSPA in 2004 and the CSPA Joseph M. Murphy Award for Outstanding Service in 2012.

Cheryl Pell is a former high school English and journalism teacher and is currently a faculty member at the Michigan State University School of Journalism in East Lansing, Mich. She was the executive director of Michigan Interscholastic Press Association for 25 years and now teaches publication design at MSU and the capstone journalism course, where students create iPad magazines. She is co-adviser of the MSU Society for News Design student affiliate. In addition, she teaches a study abroad course in visual communication in Spain every spring. Pell has received the JEA Medal of Merit award, the CSPA James F. Paschal award, the NSPA Pioneer Award, the AEJMC Scholastic Journalism Division Educator of the Year award the MIPA John V. Field award. In 2007 she was inducted into the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame. She received the JEA Lifetime Achievement Award in 2013.erson currently chairs the Judging Practices Committee of the CSPAA.

Randy Yeip is a graphics editor at The Wall Street Journal. He coordinates graphics coverage of national politics and has directed the Journal's election graphics since 2006. Prior to that, he was a designer and graphic artist at The Patriot-News in Harrisburg, Pa. Yeip holds bachelor's and master's degrees in journalism from Michigan State University, and was a staff member of the Michigan Interscholastic Press Association summer workshop for 11 years. He has participated in critiques and judging for CSPA, MIPA, National Scholastic Press Association, Pennsylvania Scholastic Press Association and Maine Newspaper Association.

Kathleen D. Zwiebel was the 1998 DJNF National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year. She advised five publications at Pottsville Area High School in Pottsville, PA. In the past the publications have received national and state honors from CSPA, NSPA and PSPA. A 1996 CSPA Gold Key recipient, Zwiebel also received the CSPA Diamond Jubilee Award, Charles R. O'Malley Award for Excellence in Teaching, NSPA Pioneer Award, JEA Medal of Merit and PSPA Teacher of the Year. She serves as past president of the CSPAA and chairs its committee on Judging Standards.