Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

Charles R. O'Malley Award

The Charles R. O'Malley Award for Excellence in Teaching is named for the CSPA's second director and honors his generous service to the student press and to Columbia University, his alma mater.

This award recognizes “a sustained record of outstanding teaching" in support of student journalism or student publishing. It is intended to be the CSPA’s highest accolade in support of the core function of teaching as related to student-practiced journalism.

Suggestions for suitable candidates should be sent to the executive director. There is no formal nomination process.

The O'Malley Award is discretionary. If presented, it is given at the Association's annual Spring Convention in March at Columbia University.

More information about Charles R. O'Malley can be found here.