Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.


The Charles R. O'Malley Award is given by CSPA for Excellence in Teaching



1999 Robert Greenman, retired adviser, Brooklyn, NY

2000 John Tagliareni, adviser, Bergenfield, NJ

2001 Kathleen Zwiebel, adviser, Pottsville, PA

2002 William A. Elsen, former editor and recruiter, The Washington Post, Washington, DC

2003 Merle Dieleman, retired adviser, Bettendorf, IA

2004 Laura Schaub, professor emerita, Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK

2005 John Bowen, retired adviser, Lakewood, OH

2006 Elizabeth Dickey, executive director, Southern Interscholastic Press Association, Columbia, SC

2007 Bobby Hawthorne, former director for academics, University Interscholastic League, Austin, TX

2008 Nick Ferentinos, retired adviser, Saratoga, CA

2009 Mark Goodman, professor, Kent State University, Kent, OH

2010 Linda Puntney, director of student publications, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS

2011 Esther Wojcicki, journalism faculty adviser, Palo Alto High School, Palo Alto, CA

2012 Wayne Brasler, journalism faculty adviser, University of Chicago High School, Chicago, IL

2013 C. Randy Stano, professor, University of Miami, Miami, FL

2014 Claire Regan, professor/journalists, Wagner College and Staten Island Advance, Staten Island, NY

2015 Mario García, instructor/senior news adviser, Columbia Journalism School and García Media

2016 C. Bruce Watterson, educational consultant, Rome, GA

2017 Merrill Perlman, editor, communications trainer and professor, New York, NY.

2018 No award given.

2019 Matthew Chayes, reporter, Newsday, Melville, NY.

2020 Mary Kay Downes, teacher/adviser, Chantilly High School, Chantilly, VA.

2021 No award given.

2022 Greg Stobbe, teacher/adviser, Fresno Christian High School, Fresno, CA.

2023 Susan Massy, teacher/adviser, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee, KS.