Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.


Presented by the Columbia Scholastic Press Advisers Association
for Outstanding Service to a State Scholastic Press Association

Each year, the Columbia Scholastic Press Advisers Association honors a state or regional school press association official who has distinguished him- or herself in the field. The James Frederick Paschal Award, named for the late director of the Oklahoma Interscholastic Press Association and former editor of the CSPAA Bulletin, will be presented at Columbia University in New York during the annual spring convention in March.



1987 Wilma T. Taylor, Indiana High School Press Association
1988 Elizabeth B. Dickey, Southern Interscholastic Press Association
1989 Robert P. Knight, Missouri Interscholastic Press Association
1990 Bobby F. Hawthorne, Interscholastic Press League Conference
1991 Mary P. Arnold, Iowa High School Press Association
1992 William D. Downs, Arkansas High School Press Association
1993 C. Marshall Matlock, Empire State School Press Association
1994 Bruce E. Konkle, South Carolina Scholastic Press Association
1995 Julie E. Dodd, Florida Scholastic Press Association
1996 Ken Tilley, Virginia High School League
1997 Virginia Keimel Dixon, Pennsylvania Scholastic Press Association
1998 Cheryl Pell, Michigan Interscholastic Press Association
1999 Linda Fritz-Glomski, Great Lakes Interscholastic Press Association
2000 John Hudnall, Kansas Scholastic Press Association
2001 Kay Phillips, North Carolina Scholastic Media Association
2002 Laura Schaub, Oklahoma Interscholastic Press Association
2003 Candace Perkins Bowen, Ohio Scholastic Media Association
2004 Helen Smith, New England Scholastic Press Association
2005 Jane Blystone, Pennsylvania School Press Association
2006 Margaret "Peggy" Gregory, Arizona Interscholastic Press Association
2007 Monica Hill, North Carolina Scholastic Media Association
2008 Steve O'Donoghue, California Scholastic Journalism Initiative
2009 Jeanne Acton, Interscholastic League Press Conference (Texas)
2010 Karen Flowers, South Carolina Scholastic Press Association (SCSPA)
2012 Beth Fitts, Mississippi Scholastic Press Association (MSPA)
2014 Meredith Cummings, Alabama Scholastic Press Association (ASPA)
2016 Joe Humphrey, Florida Scholastic Press Association {FSPA)
2018 Leslie Dennis, Scholastic Media Organizations in the School of journalism and Mass Communications at University of South Carolina