Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.


The Joseph M. Murphy Award is given for exemplary service to the Association.


1998 — Nick Ferentinos, retired adviser, Saratoga, CA

1999 — Mark Goodman, director, Student Press Law Center, Arlington, VA

2000 — Helen Smith, director, New England Scholastic Press Association; Newton, MA

2001 — Laura Schaub, director, Oklahoma Interscholastic Press Association, Norman, OK

2003 — Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver, past president, College Media Advisers and past president, Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication, Miami, FL

2005 — C. Randy Stano, University of Miami, Miami, FL

2006 — Charles R. O'Malley, former director, Columbia Scholastic Press Association, New York, NY

2007 — Richard P. Johns, executive director, Quill & Scroll, Iowa City, IA

2008 — Arlene Morgan, associate dean, Columbia Graduate School of Journalism, New York, NY

2009 — Robert Greenman, educator and mentor, Brooklyn, NY

2010 — Kathleen D. Zwiebel, publications adviser, Pottsville, PA

2011 — C. Bruce Watterson, education consultant, retired journalism adviser, Rome, GA

2012 — Mark Murray, executive director of the Association of Texas Photography Instructors, Arlington, TX

2013 — Diana Mitsu Klos, media strategist, Washington, DC

2015 — Linda Shockley, managing director, Dow Jones News Fund, Princeton, NJ

2016 — Frank LoMonte, director, Student Press Law Center, Washington, DC

2018 — Randy Yeip, deputy graphics director, Wall Street Journal, New York, NY

2019 — Pete LeBlanc, teacher/adviser, Antelope High School, Antelope, CA.

2020 — Jenny Dial Creech, managing editor, The Athletic Houston, Houston, TX.