Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year

Pictured above are previous DJNF Teachers of the Year at the 2016 JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Indianapolis (L-R): John Bowen, Mitch Eden, Jim McGonnell, Dow Tate, Lori Keekley, Karl Grubaugh, Valerie Kibler, Candace Bowen, Jim Streisel, Robin Sawyer, Aaron Manfull, Ellen Austin. Photo by Bradley Wilson.

Click here for the 2023 honorees

The Columbia Scholastic Press Association and the Dow Jones News Fund, will select one 2024 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year based on their work during the 2022-2023 academic year.

Along with the Teacher of the Year, an additional eight (8) high school journalism teachers and media advisers will be named Distinguished Advisers and Special Recognition Advisers.

The National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year receives numerous honors, including:

  • ♦ A plaque commemorating their achievement;
  • ♦ An iPad tablet and Apple Pencil;
  • ♦ Admission to four slots at the CSPA Summer Workshop, in classes of their choice

The Teacher of the Year will participate in a virtual interview with CSPA's executive director, to be made available through the Association's media channels. The honoree will also join a select group of 60 teachers who have previously been honored with this premier achievement.

Distinguished Advisers receive:

  • ♦ A plaque
  • ♦ Admission to two slots at the CSPA Summer Workshop, in classes of their choice

Special Recognition Advisers receive:

  • ♦ A plaque;
  • ♦ Admission to one slot at the CSPA Summer Workshop, in a class of their choice


How to apply 

The application process for 2024 will begin in May 2023.

CSPA has launched an online application to collect the information needed to select the National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year. Completion is required by each candidate.

We seek those with at least three years of experience, preferably from those who have been honored as lifetime achievement, state, or regional winners by local, state, and regional groups.

Current membership in the Columbia Scholastic Press Association is NOT a prerequisite for nomination or award.

Professional media and press associations are invited to forward candidates from their competitions. The nominee must complete the online application, which will ask for the electronic submission of the following:

  • ♦ Up to three (3) letters of support;
  • ♦ An updated résumé; and
  • ♦ A color headshot, sized to 120 x 120 pixels, uploaded as a JPEG or TIFF file

After submitting your application we will ask you to send six (6) copies of your single best newspaper/newsmagazine issue from the 2022-2023 academic year to the CSPA office in New York City.

The deadline to apply for the 2024 Teacher of the Year is Friday, December 8, 2023.


Past NHSJTOY recipients

The Dow Jones News Fund (DJNF) established the program in 1960 to select one outstanding high school media teacher or adviser each year as National Newspaper Teacher of the Year. Today, the award is referred to as the National Journalism Teacher of the Year and recognizes a high school educator who teaches innovative media techniques, mentors students to produce award-winning journalists, and encourages students to consider media careers. Along with the Teacher of the Year, eight additional high school teachers and media advisers who go beyond the call of duty are selected as Distinguished Advisers and Special Recognition Advisers.

CSPA has been a valued co-sponsor of the program for decades, featuring the Teacher of the Year at an advisers luncheon during its Spring convention, providing accommodations, promoting the program, and inviting honorees to present sessions. This is the third year that CSPA will take the lead role in the promotion, selection, and participation of the winners, with DJNF becoming a co-sponsor.