Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

1992 - Awards For Student Work Crown Awards - Collegiate Recipients

CSPA presents the 1992 Collegiate Crown Awards


New York-The Columbia Scholastic Press Association announced its top awards for college student publications at the 14th Annual College Press Convention today (March 19). Ten college newspapers, magazines and yearbooks received Gold Crown Awards, and sixteen others received the second highest CSPA award, known as the Silver Crown. The Crown Awards represent the top five percent of publications evaluated by the Association during the 1990-1991 academic year.

Edmund J. Sullivan, Director of CSPA, presented plaques to those winners attending the Convention, held at the Doral Inn in New York City. Remaining awards will be mailed to the winners after April 1.

For further information, contact CSPA directly.

College Gold Crown Magazines

Clifton Magazine, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH;
Dollars and $ense, Baruch College, New York, NY;
Sanskrit, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, Charlotte, NC.


College Gold Crown Newspapers

Indiana Daily Student, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN;
NECC Observer, Northern Essex Community College, Haverhill, MA;
The Emory Wheel, Emory University, Atlanta, GA;
The Vanderbilt Hustler, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN.


College Gold Crown Yearbooks

Orient, Ball State University, Muncie, IN;
Razorback, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR;
Royal Purple, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS.


College Silver Crown Magazines

Chicago Arts and Communication, Columbia College, Chicago, IL;
Lower Stumpf Lake Review, Saint John's University and the College of Saint Benedict, Collegeville, MN;
Miscellany, College of Charleston, Charleston, SC;
Phoenix, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN.


College Silver Crown Newspapers

The Beacon, William Paterson College, Wayne, NJ;
The Crimson White, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL;
The Daily Northwestern, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL;
The Daily Tar Heel, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC;
The IUPI Sagamore, Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN;
State Press, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ.


College Silver Crown Yearbooks

Debris, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN;
La Vie, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA;
Michiganensian, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI;
Sooner, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK;
The Star, Henderson State University, Arkadelphia, AR;
Tower, Northwest Missouri State, Maryville, MO.