Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

1996 - Awards For Student Work Crown Awards - Collegiate Recipients

CSPA presents the 1996 Collegiate Crown Awards

New York, NY - The Columbia Scholastic Press Association will announce its top awards for collegiate publications at the 18th Annual College Media Convention, co-sponsored with College Media Advisers, Inc. Four hundred and five newspapers, four hundred and ninety yearbooks and two hundred and twenty-four magazines entered the 1996 Crown Awards Program, representing editions published during the 1994-1995 academic year.

Six college newspapers, four magazines, and two yearbooks received Gold Crown Awards while fifteen other college publications received the second highest CSPA award, known as the Silver Crown Award. Gold Crowns have been awarded annually since 1982 and Silver Crowns have been given since 1984.

The Awards Convocation will take place at The Broadway Ballroom North, 6th floor, The Marriott Marquis Hotel, 1535 Broadway at West 45th Street, New York City on Thursday, March 14 at 9:00am.

Edmund J. Sullivan, Director of the CSPA, will present plaques to those winners attending the Convention, held at The Marriott Marquis Hotel. Remaining awards will be mailed to winners beginning March 25.

The Association, international in scope, functions as an educational press organization providing services to student newspapers, magazines, yearbooks and videos in schools and colleges, who join the CSPA as members to receive these services. Owned and operated by Columbia University since 1925, the Association now enrolls 2,000 members throughout North America and in certain overseas schools and colleges following the American plan.

Its three major services include: 1) annual competitions and awards for members, including the Crown Awards, 2) planning three conventions (two national, one regional) and a week-long summer workshop at Columbia, plus 3) small press publishing activities to support a quarterly magazine and one to two books per year.

College Media Advisers, Inc. represents the people who advise the nation's collegiate newspapers, yearbooks, magazines and electronic media. With more than 700 members from coast to coast, College Media Advisers has been working since 1954 to support both new and veteran advisers of college-media programs.

The panel of judges for this year's Crown Awards program included the following: Martha Akers, Purcellville, VA; Mary Arnold, Iowa City, IA; Dennis Cripe, Franklin, IN; Kathy Daly, Aurora, CO; Paul Ender, San Jose, CA; Dr. George P. Evans, Bradford, PA; Nick Ferentinos, Saratoga, CA; Elizabeth Fox, Brooklyn, NY; Robert Greenman, Brooklyn, NY; Bobby Hawthorne, Austin, TX; John Hudnall, Lawrence, KS; Bruce Konkle, Columbia, SC; Kathy Lawrence, Austin, TX; Gary Lundgren, Fayetteville, AR; Cheryl Pell, Lansing, MI; Linda Puntney, Manhattan, KS; Laura Schaub, Norman, OK; Helen F. Smith, Newton, MA; Edmund J. Sullivan, New York, NY; Mark Statman, Brooklyn, NY; Sherri Taylor, Syracuse, NY; Laura Widmer, Maryville, MO. Judges did not evaluate publications from their own state.

For further information, contact the CSPA directly.

College Gold Crown Magazines

Chicago Arts and Communication, Columbia College, Chicago, IL.
cold-drill, Boise State University, Boise, ID;
Hair Trigger, Columbia College, Chicago, IL;
Talisman Exposure, West Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY;
Vanderbilt Review, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN.


College Gold Crown Newspapers

Indiana Daily Student, Indiana University at Bloomington, Bloomington, IN;
Kansas State Collegian, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS;
The Auburn Plainsmen, Auburn University, Auburn University, AL;
The Eastern Progress, Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond, KY;
The Oberlin Review, Oberlin College, Oberlin, OH;
The Oklahoma Daily, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK.


College Gold Crown Yearbooks

The Commodore, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN;
Royal Purple, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS.


College Silver Crown Magazines

Botticelli, Columbus College of Art and Design, Columbus, OH;
Bayousphere, University of Houston - Clear Lake, Houston, TX;
Cornell Political Forum, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY;
Flux, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR;
Versus, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN;
Vox, Pace University, White Plains, NY.


College Silver Crown Newspapers

Kaleidoscope, University of Alabama, Birmingham, AL;
NECC Observer, North Essex Community College, Haverhill, MA;
Northwest Missourian, Northwest Missouri State College, Maryville, MO;
The Daily Illini, University of Illinois, Champaign, IL;
The Daily Northwestern, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL;
The Daily Pennsylvanian, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA;
The Ithacan, Ithaca College, Ithaca, NY.


College Silver Crown Yearbooks

Arbutus, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN;
La Vie, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA.