Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

1997 - Awards For Student Work Crown Awards - Collegiate Recipients

CSPA presents the 1997 Collegiate Crown Awards

New York, NY - The Columbia Scholastic Press Association will announce its top awards for collegiate publications at the 19th Annual College Media Convention, co-sponsored with College Media Advisers, Inc. Three hundred and eighty-four newspapers, four hundred and eighty-eight yearbooks and two hundred and two magazines entered the 1997 Crown Awards Program, representing editions published during the 1995-1996 academic year.

Six college newspapers, four magazines, and four yearbooks received Gold Crown Awards while seventeen other college publications received the second highest CSPA award, known as the Silver Crown Award. Gold Crowns have been awarded annually since 1982, and Silver Crowns have been given since 1984.

The Awards Convocation took place at Marquis Salon C, 9th floor, The Marriott Marquis Hotel, 1535 Broadway at West 45th Street, New York City on Thursday, March 20 at 5:00 p.m.

Edmund J. Sullivan, Director of the CSPA, presented plaques to those winners attending the Convention. Remaining awards will be mailed to winners beginning April 1.

The Association, international in scope, functions as an educational press organization providing services to student newspapers, magazines, yearbooks and videos in schools and colleges, who join the CSPA as members to receive these services. Owned and operated by Columbia University since 1925, the Association now enrolls 2,000 members throughout North America and in certain overseas schools and colleges following the American plan.

Its three major services include: 1) annual competitions and awards for members, including the Crown Awards, 2) planning three conventions (two national, one regional) and a week-long summer workshop at Columbia, plus 3) small press publishing activities to support a quarterly magazine and one to two books per year.

The panel of judges for this year's Crown Awards program included the following: Dr. George P. Evans, Bradford, PA; Fiona Keane, New York, NY; Fin Keegan, New York, NY; and Laura Schaub, Norman, OK. Judges did not evaluate publications from their own state.

For further information, contact the CSPA directly.


College Gold Crown Magazines

Antheon, Kingsborough Community College, Brooklyn, NY;
Aura, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL;
Sanskrit, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, Charlotte, NC;
The Vanderbilt Review, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN.


College Gold Crown Newspapers

Indiana Daily Student, Indiana University at Bloomington, Bloomington, IN;
The Daily Collegian, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA;
The Daily Illini, University of Illinois, Champaign, IL;
The Daily Texan, University of Texas, Austin, TX;
The Ithacan, Ithaca College, Ithaca, NY;
The Oklahoma Daily, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK.


College Gold Crown Yearbooks

Arbutus, Indiana University at Bloomington, Bloomington, IN;
La Ventana, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX;
Royal Purple, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS;
Tower, Northwest Missouri State University, Maryville, MO.


College Silver Crown Magazines

Rebel, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC;
The Dial, Coffeyville Community College, Coffeyville, KS.


College Silver Crown Newspapers

Ball State Daily News, Ball State University, Muncie, IN;
Kansas State Collegian, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS;
NECC Observer, Northern Essex Community College, Haverhill, MA;
The Bucknellian, Bucknell University, Lewisburg, PA;
The Daily Campus, Southern Methodist University, Dallas, TX;
The Daily Northwestern, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL;
The Daily Pennsylvanian, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA;
The Eastern Progress, Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond, KY;
The Rocky Mountain Collegian, Colorado State University, Ft. Collins, CO;
Warwhoop, El Camino College, Torrance, CA.


College Silver Crown Yearbooks

Blue and Gold, University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, CA;
Blueprint, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA;
Corks & Curls, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA;
Milestone, Hope College, Holland, MI;
The Sheaf, Principia College, Elsah, IL.