Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

1999 - Awards For Student Work Crown Awards - Collegiate Recipients

CSPA presents the 1999 Collegiate Crown Awards

New York, NY - The Columbia Scholastic Press Association will announce its top awards for collegiate publications at the 21st Annual College Media Convention, cosponsored with College Media Advisers, Inc. Four hundred and five newspapers, two hundred and twenty-three magazines and five hundred and thirty-nine yearbooks entered the 1999 Crown Awards Program, representing editions published during the 1997-1998 academic year.

Six college newspapers, two magazines, and five yearbooks received Gold Crown Awards while eleven other college publications received the second highest CSPA award, known as the Silver Crown Award. Gold Crowns have been awarded annually since 1982, and Silver Crowns have been given since 1984.

The Awards Convocation took place at Marquis Ballroom, 9th floor, The Marriott Marquis Hotel, 1535 Broadway at West 45th Street, New York City on Thursday, March 18 at 5:00 p.m.

Edmund J. Sullivan, Director of the CSPA, presented plaques to those winners attending the Convention. Remaining awards will be mailed to winners beginning April 5.

The Association, international in scope, functions as an educational press organization providing services to student magazines, newspapers, yearbooks and videos in schools and colleges, who join the CSPA as members to receive these services. Owned and operated by Columbia University since 1925, the Association now enrolls 2,000 members throughout North America and in certain overseas schools and colleges following the American plan.

Its three major services include: 1) annual competitions and awards for members, including the Crown Awards, 2) planning three conventions (two national, one regional) and a week-long summer workshop at Columbia, plus 3) small press publishing activities to support a quarterly magazine and one to two books per year.

The judging panel included Elizabeth Fox, author, Brooklyn, NY; Bobby Hawthorne, director of academics, UIL, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX; Alice Klement, assistant enterprise editor, Associated Press, New York NY; Laura Schaub, associate professor of journalism, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK; Randy Stano, Knight Chair professor, University of Miami, Miami, FL; Sherri Taylor, Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY; and C. Bruce Watterson, director of public affairs, Henderson State University, Arkadelphia, AK. (Individual affiliations of the members of the judging panel are for identification purposes only.)

For further information, contact the CSPA directly.

College Gold Crown Magazines

Sanskrit, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, Charlotte, NC;
The Briar Cliff Review, Briar Cliff College, Sioux City, IA.


College Gold Crown Newspapers

College Heights Herald, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY;
Indiana Daily Student (Fall), Indiana University at Bloomington, Bloomington, IN;
Indiana Daily Student (Spring), Indiana University at Bloomington, Bloomington, IN;
The Daily Illini, University of Illinois, Champaign, IL;
The Daily Northwestern, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL;
The Shorthorn, University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, TX.


College Gold Crown Yearbooks

Arbutus, Indiana University at Bloomington, Bloomington, IN;
Michiganensian, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI;
Royal Purple, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS;
Tower, Northwest Missouri State University, Maryville, MD;
Yanseh, Oklahoma Baptist University; Shawnee, OK.


College Silver Crown Magazines

Cornell Political Forum, Cornell University, Ithica, NY;
Des Moines Health & Fitness, Drake University, Des Moines, IA;
Hair Trigger 20, Columbia College, Chicago, Chicago, IL.


College Silver Crown Newspapers

Northwest Missourian, Northwest Missouri State University, Maryville, MD;
The Oklahoma Daily, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK;
The University Times, UNC Charlotte, Charlotte NC;
Oregon Daily Emerald, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR.


College Silver Crown Yearbooks

Bobashela, Millsaps College, Jackson, MS;
Cornellian, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY;
La Ventana, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX;
La Vie, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA.