Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

2003 - Awards For Student Work Crown Awards - Collegiate Recipients

CSPA presents the 2003 Collegiate Crown Awards


New York, NY — The Columbia Scholastic Press Association announced its top awards for collegiate publications at the Spring National College Media Convention, sponsored by College Media Advisers, Inc.

The annual Crown Awards program attracted 1,550 entries from among CSPA’s 1,749 member publications from the 2001-2002 academic year. Publications were judged on writing/editing, design, content, concept, photography, art and graphics for the 2003 Crown Awards Program.

Six college newspapers, one magazine, and three yearbooks received Gold Crown Awards while sixteen other college publications received the second highest CSPA award, known as the Silver Crown Award. Gold Crowns have been awarded annually since 1982, and Silver Crowns have been given since 1984.

The Awards Convocation took place on Saturday, March 22, 2003 at 2 p.m. in the Grand Ballroom of The Roosevelt Hotel, located at Madison Ave. and East 45th Street in New York City.

Edmund J. Sullivan, director of the CSPA, presented plaques to those winners attending the Convention. Remaining awards will be mailed to winners beginning April 7, 2003. The CSPA is an international student press association uniting student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges and award programs. Owned by Columbia University since 1925 and operated as a program of its Graduate School of Journalism, the Association enrolls members throughout North America and in certain overseas schools and colleges following the American plan.

Its three major services include: 1) annual competitions and awards for members, including the Crown Awards, 2) planning two conventions (one national, one regional) and a week-long summer workshop at Columbia, plus 3) small press publishing activities to support a monthly ezine and one to two books per year.

For further information, contact the CSPA directly.

Of the 1,749 current CSPA members eligible to enter the Crown Awards, 1,550 magazines, newspapers and yearbooks actually submitted copies for this judging. Judging took place at Columbia University from December 19-22, 2002 by the Board of Crown Judges. Crown Award Finalists will receive either a Gold or Silver Crown Award at the College Media Convention, Saturday, March 22, 2003.

The judging panel included: Merle Dieleman, retired teacher of language arts and journalism, Bettendorf, IA; Elizabeth Fox, author, Brooklyn, NY; Bobby Hawthorne director of academics, University Interscholastic League at the University of Texas at Austin, TX; Mark Herron, assistant professor and director of secondary education services at Ball State University, Muncie, IN; Mark Murray, coordinator of technology systems for Arlington Independent School District, Arlington, TX; Laura Schaub, director of the Oklahoma Interscholastic Press Association at the University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK; Randy Stano, Knight Chair and professor in the School of Communications at the University of Miami, Miami, FL; C. Bruce Watterson, vice president of public relations at Shorter College, Rome, GA; Renva Watterson, associate professor and chairperson of the department of communication arts at Shorter College in Rome, GA. (Individual affiliations of the members of the judging panel are for identification purposes only.)


College Gold Crown Magazines

The Briar Cliff Review, Briar Cliff University, Sioux City, IA.


College Gold Crown Newspapers

College Heights Herald, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY;
Daily News, Ball State University, Muncie, IN;
The Daily Northwestern, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL;
F Newsmagazine, School of Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago, IL;
Indiana Daily Student, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN;
Kansas State Collegian, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS.


College Gold Crown Yearbooks

Corks and Curls, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA;
Royal Purple, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS;
Sooner, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK.


College Silver Crown Magazines

Convergence, Humber College-School of Media Studies, Toronto, Ontario;
Dollars & Sense, Baruch College/CUNY, New York, NY;
Hair Trigger 24, Columbia College Chicago, Chicago, IL.


College Silver Crown Newspapers

The Crimson White, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL;
The Daily Texan, University of Texas, Austin, TX;
El Don, Santa Ana College, Santa Ana, CA;
Iowa State Daily, Iowa State University, Ames, IA;
The Michigan Daily, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI;
The Murray State News, Murray State University, Murray, KY;
Shorthorn, University of Texas, Arlington, TX;
The State Press, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ.


College Silver Crown Yearbooks

The Bluestone, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA;
Bruinlife, University of California at Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA;
Ibis, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL;
Michiganensian, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI;
Rotunda, Southern Methodist University, Dallas, TX.