Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

2007 - Awards For Student Work Crown Awards - Collegiate Recipients

CSPA presents the  2007 Collegiate Crown Awards

NEW YORK, NY - The Columbia Scholastic Press Association announced its top awards for collegiate publications at the 29th annual College Media Convention.

This year, 1,860 CSPA members were eligible to enter the Crown Awards. Judging took place at Columbia University from December 16-18, 2006 by the Board of Crown Judges. Publications were judged on writing/editing, design, concept, photography, art and graphics.

Four college newspapers, nine magazines, and five yearbooks received Gold Crown Awards while 24 other college publications received the second highest CSPA award, known as the Silver Crown. Gold Crowns have been presented annually since 1982, and Silver Crowns have been given since 1984.

The Awards Convocation took place on Saturday, March 17th at 2 p.m. in the Grand Ballroom of the Roosevelt Hotel, located at East 45th Street and Madison Avenue in New York City.

Edmund J. Sullivan, executive director of the CSPA, announced the Gold and Silver Crown recipients while Dr. C. Bruce Watterson, chair of the Association's Committee on Judging Standards and Practices presented plaques to publication staff members attending the Convention. Remaining awards will be mailed to winners beginning March 26th.

The CSPA is an international student press association uniting student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges and award programs. Owned by Columbia University since 1925 and operated as a program affiliated with its Graduate School of Journalism, the Association offers three major services: 1–annual competitions and awards for members, including the Crown Awards, 2–planning two conventions (one national, one regional) and a week-long summer workshop at Columbia, plus 3–small press publishing activities to support an e-zine and one to two books per year.

The judging panel included: Leah Bailey, associate art director at Cigar Aficionado magazine, New York, NY; Jennifer Dial, reporter at the Houston Chronicle, Houston, TX; Dr. Gloria (Lori) Eastman, professor of teacher education, Metropolitan State College, Denver, CO; Nick Ferentinos, retired adviser and consultant, Cupertino, CA; Monica Hill, executive director of the North Carolina Scholastic Media Association, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Dean Kostos, author and poet, New York, NY; Steve O’Donoghue, director of the High School Newspaper Support Program, San Francisco, CA; C. Bruce Watterson, chief communications officer at the Darlington School, Rome, GA; and Renva Watterson, chairperson of the department of communication arts and dean of the School of Liberal Arts at Shorter College in Rome, GA. (Individual affiliations of the members of the judging panel are for identification purposes only.)

For further information, contact the CSPA directly.

College Magazine Gold Crowns

American River Review, American River College, Sacramento, CA;
Convergence, Humber College, Toronto, Ontario Canada;
Flux, University of Oregon - School of Journalism and Communication, Eugene, OR;
Hair Trigger 28, Columbia College, Chicago, IL;
Miambiance, Miami Dade College, Miami, FL;
Miscellany, The College of Charleston - Dept of English, Charleston, SC;
Skald, Villa Maria College, Buffalo, NY;
The Bridge, Bridgewater State College, Bridgewater, MA;
The Huron River Review, Washtenaw Community College, Ann Arbor, MI.


College Magazine Silver Crowns

Alchemy, Portland Community College, Portland, OR;
Antheon, Kingsborough Community College, Brooklyn, NY;
Aura Literary Arts Review, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL;
Cabbages and Kings, Monroe Community College, Rochester, NY;
Collage, Brookdale Community College, Lincroft, NJ;
Collage: A Journal of Creative Expression, Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, TN;
Grub Street, Towson University, Towson, MD;
Red Wheelbarrow, University of California at Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz, CA;
Shadows, Creighton University, Omaha, NE;
The Lens Magazine, Carleton College, Northfield, MN;
Tusk, California State University Fullerton, Fullerton, CA.


College Newspaper Gold Crown

Daily News - Fall 05, Ball State University, Muncie, IN;
el Don - Fall 05, Santa Ana College, Santa Ana, CA;
Indiana Daily Student - Fall 05, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN;
Indiana Daily Student - Spring 06, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN.


College Newspaper Silver Crown

College Heights Herald - Spring 06, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY;
Kansas State Collegian - Fall 05, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS;
Kansas State Collegian - Spring 06, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS;
Technician - Fall 05, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC;
Technician - Spring 06, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC;
The Ithacan - Fall 05, Ithaca College, Ithaca, NY;
The Ithacan - Spring 06, Ithaca College, Ithaca, NY;
The Oklahoma Daily - Fall 05, The University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK;
The Shorthorn - Spring 06, University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, TX;
Wingspan - Spring 06, Laramie County Community College, Cheyenne, WY.


College Yearbook Gold Crowns

Arbutus, Indiana University at Bloomington, Bloomington, IN;
Citadel, Westmont College, Santa Barbara, CA;
Ibis, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL;
Sooner, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK;
The Tower, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA.


College Yearbook Silver Crowns

Illio, University of Illinois, Champaign, IL;
Royal Purple, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS;
The Bluestone, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA.