Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

2010 - Awards For Student Work Crown Awards - Collegiate Recipients

CSPA presents the 2010 Collegiate Crown Awards

NEW YORK, NY - The Columbia Scholastic Press Association announced its top awards for collegiate publications at the 31st annual College Media Convention. 

This year 1,558 magazines, newspapers, yearbooks and online publications of the current CSPA members were eligible to enter the Crown Awards. Judging for printed publications took place at Columbia University from December 19-21, 2009 by the Board of Crown Judges. Publications were judged on writing/editing, design, content, concept, photography, art and graphics. Online news media were judged at Columbia in February 2010.

Six college magazines, three newspapers, one online magazine, five online newspapers, and three yearbooks received Gold Crown Awards while 26 other college publications received the second highest CSPA award, known as the Silver Crown. Gold Crowns have been presented annually since 1982, and Silver Crowns have been given since 1984. 

The Awards Convocation took place at The Marriott Marquis Times Square, West 45th Street and Broadway Avenue, New York City on Sunday, March 14th at 1:30 p.m.

Edmund J. Sullivan, director of the CSPA, presented plaques to those winners attending the Convention. Remaining awards will be mailed to winners beginning March 29th.

The CSPA is an international student press association uniting student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges and award programs. Owned by Columbia University since 1925 and operated as a program of its Graduate School of Journalism, the Association offers three major services: 1) annual competitions and awards for members, including the Crown Awards, 2) planning two conventions (one national, one regional) and a week-long summer workshop at Columbia, plus 3) small press publishing activities to support an e-zine and one to two books per year.

   The judging panel included: Leah Bailey, associate art director, Cigar Aficionado magazine, New York, NY; Peter Bobkowski, instructor and former adviser, Chapel Hill, NC; Bobby Hawthorne, author and former director of ILPC, Austin, TX; Monica Hill, director, North Carolina Scholastic Media Association, Chapel Hill, NC; Michelle Hoover, former journalist, The Philadelphia Inquirer, New York, NY; Dave Johnson, instructor and author, New York, NY; Mark Murray, coordinator of technology systems, Arlington Independent School District, Arlington, TX; C. Bruce Watterson, former chief communications officer, The Darlington School, Rome, GA; and David Wiegand, retired adviser, Wausau, WI. (Individual affiliations of the members of the judging panel are for identification purposes only.)

For further information, contact the CSPA directly.

Download Photos

TO DOWNLOAD PHOTO: click on your photo; to the right is a black bar, click the icon with three dots (it activates more actions). Scroll down to 'Download/All Sizes' and release. Choose the size you want to download.

Click here for the photos of from the 2010 CSPA Scholastic Crown Awards Ceremony on March 19, 2010 in New York City.

College Magazine Gold Crowns

American River Review, American River College, Sacramento, CA;
Flux, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR;
Grub Street, Towson University, Towson, MD;
Hair Trigger 31, Columbia College, Chicago, IL;
The Bridge, Bridgewater State College, Bridgewater, MA;
The Lens, Carleton College, Northfield, MN.


College Newspaper Gold Crowns

Indiana Daily Student (Fall 08), Indiana University, Bloomington, IN;
Indiana Daily Student (Spring 09), Indiana University, Bloomington, IN;
The Daily Texan (Fall 08), University of Texas, Austin, TX;


College Digital Magazine Gold Crown

Dollars & Sense Online, Baruch College/CUNY, New York, NY.


College Digital News Gold Crowns

Indiana Daily Student Online, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN;
Iowa State Daily Online, Iowa State University, Ames, IA;, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK;
The Daily Pennsylvanian Online, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA;
The Ithacan Online, Ithaca College, Ithaca, NY.


College Yearbook Gold Crowns

Agromeck, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC;
Ibis, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL;
Sooner, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK.


College Magazines Silver Crowns

Ampersand, Webster University, St. Louis, MO;
Blue Moon, Whitman College, Walla Walla, WA;
Collage, Brookdale Community College, Lincroft, NJ;
Dollars and Sense, Baruch College, New York, NY;
Ethos, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR;
Kiosk, Morningside College, Sioux City, IA;
Miscellany, College of Charleston, Charleston, SC;
Skald, Villa Maria College, Buffalo, NY;
The Meadow, Truckee Meadows Community, Reno, NV.


College Newspaper Silver Crowns

Southwestern College Sun (Fall 08), Southwestern College, Chula Vista, CA;
The Daily Collegian (Spring 09), Penn State University, University Park, PA;
The Daily Pennsylvanian (Spring 09), University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA;
The Daily Texan (Spring 09), University of Texas, Austin, TX;
The Oklahoma Daily (Spring 09), University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK;
The Rocky Mountain Collegian (Fall 08), Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO;


College Digital Magazine Silver Crown

INside magazine Online, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN.


College Digital News Silver Crowns

Humber Et Cetera Online, Humber College, Toronto, Ontario;
Los Angeles Loyolan Online, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA;
The Miami Hurricane Online, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL;
The Shorthorn Online, University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, TX.


College Yearbook Silver Crowns

Aggieland, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX;
Arbutus, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN;
Cactus, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX;
Royal Purple, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS;
Selah, Liberty University, Lynchburg, VA;
Talisman, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY.