Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

2014 - Awards For Student Work Crown Awards - Collegiate Recipients

CSPA announces 2014 Collegiate Crown Awards


NEW YORK, NY - The Columbia Scholastic Press Association announced its top awards for collegiate publications at the 2014 College Media Convention.
   This year 1,236 digital, newspapers, magazines and yearbooks published during the 2012-2013 academic year were eligible for judging in the 2014 Crown Awards Program.  All entries were judged at Columbia University from December 14-16, 2013 by the Board of Crown Judges. Both print and digital publications were judged on writing/editing, design, content, concept, photography, art and graphics.  
  This year CSPA judged digital only, print magazine, print newspaper and print yearbook as well as  - hybrid, a membership classified as a publication that works to combine their digital and print publications as one. While most hybrids grew from print newspapers that added digital platforms, several magazines became hybrids too. CSPA created the hybrid membership as a response to publications moving from print to pixels. Although considered by judges, no print newspapers were designated as Crowns this year. Hybrids and digitals did receive them.
   The Awards Convocation for Collegiate Crown recipients will take place during the College Media Convention, on Friday, March 14, 2014 at the Sheraton Hotel in New York City.
   Edmund J. Sullivan, executive director of the CSPA, presented the plaques to those winners who attended the Convention. Remaining awards will be mailed beginning April 1st.  
   The CSPA is an international student press association uniting student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges and award programs. Owned by Columbia University since 1925 and operated as a program affliated with its Graduate School of Journalism, the Association offers three major services: 1) annual competitions and awards for members, including the Crown Awards, 2) planning two conventions (one national, one regional) and a week-long summer workshop at Columbia, plus 3) small press publishing activities to support an e-zine and one to two books per year.
   The judging panel included: Jenny Dial, Houston Chronicle MBA beat writer; Houston, TX; Nancy Hastings, retired adviser, Highland, IN; Bobby Hawthorne, author and writing instructor, Austin, TX;  Jamie Miles, assistant managing editor, New York, NY; Mark Murray, coordinator of technology systems, Arlington Independent School District, Arlington, TX; Cheryl Pell retired journalism professor, East Lansing, MI; Cederic Victor, art director and arts instructor, New York, NY; C. Bruce Watterson, education consultant, Rome, GA; Randy Yeip, graphics editor, New York, NY; Kathleen Zwiebel, retired adviser, Pottsville, PA.

For further information, contact the CSPA directly.


Download Crown Press Release

Click here to DOWNLOAD the press release for the 2014 Collegiate Crown Awards.


Download Photos

TO DOWNLOAD PHOTO: click on your photo; to the right is a black bar, click the icon with three dots (it activates more actions). Scroll down to 'Download/All Sizes' and release. Choose the size you want to download.

Click here for the photos from the 2014 College Crown Awards on March 14, 2014 at the College Media Convention.


College Digital Gold Crown

Dollars & Sense, Baruch College/CUNY, New York, NY;


College Hybrid Publication Gold Crowns

Ball State Daily News |, Ball State University, Muncie, IN;
Distraction |, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL;
Flux |, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR;
Indiana Daily Student |, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN;
The Crimson White |, The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL;
The Daily Pennsylvanian |, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA;
The Ithacan |, Ithaca College, Ithaca, NY;
The Walk |, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA.

College Magazine Gold Crowns

Alchemy, Portland Community College, Portland, OR;
Collage, Brookdale Community College, Lincroft, NJ;
Emerge, University of Guelph-Humber, Toronto, ON;
Inside, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN;
Windhover, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC.


College Yearbook Gold Crowns

Ibis, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL;
Sooner, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK;
Talisman, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY;
The Tower, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA.

College Digital Silver Crown

District, Savannah College of Art & Design, Savannah, GA.


College Hybrid Silver Crowns

Baylor Lariat |, Baylor University, Waco, TX;
Iowa State Daily |
, Iowa State University, Ames, IA;
Los Angeles Loyolan |, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA;
Saltman Quarterly |, University of California -San Diego, La Jolla, CA;
The Northwest Missourian |, Northwest Missouri State University, Maryville, MO;
The Oklahoma Daily |
, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK;
The Rocky Mountain Collegian |, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO.


College Magazine Silver Crowns

blue moon, Whitman College, Walla Walla, WA;
Grub Street, Towson University, Towson, MD;
Hair Trigger 35, Columbia College Chicago, Chicago, IL;
Kiosk, Morningside College, Sioux City, IA;
Skald, Villa Maria College, Buffalo, NY.


College Yearbook Silver Crowns

Bugle, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA;
Cactus, The University of Texas at Austin,  Austin, TX;
Razorback, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR.