Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

Executive Director

Edmund J. Sullivan was named director of the Columbia Scholastic Press Association in 1981.

A former high school newspaper editor, Sullivan recalls being forced to watch as his school’s principal burned an issue he had edited. He considers that episode as having “seared” the First Amendment into his consciousness. As a result, he has dedicated his working life to the cause of a free student press.

He served as executive director of professional prizes for the Graduate School of Journalism at Columbia from 2006 through 2011.

Sullivan also serves as a Presidential Delegate for the University and as Head Marshal for Academic Procession during Columbia's annual Commencement exercises.

His numerous awards include the Laurence B. Johnson Award for Best Editorial Writing from the Educational Press Association of America, Distinguished Service Award from Community College Journalism Association, the Reid Montgomery Service Award from College Media Advisers, the Outstanding educator award from the New York Deadline Club, the Pioneer Award from the National Scholastic Press Association and the Gold Key from CSPA. He was inducted into the National Scholastic Journalism Hall of Fame in 1998.

He is the author of the "Student Journalism" entry in the Encyclopedia of American Journalism, edited by Stephen L. Vaugh, published 2008.

Besides his work at Columbia, he served on the Student Press Law Center Board of Directors from 1983 to 2000.

Sullivan is the father of two adult children and lives in New York City.



Photo by Matthew Anderson.