Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

Yearbook 2016 Crown Finalists Announced

Fourth and last of 2016 Crown Finalists Sets Announced

CSPA Selects Crown Award Finalists for Yearbook Publications

This is the fourth of four announcements of Crown Finalists for 2016 Awards
(Click here to read the first announcement of Crown Finalists for Print Magazines.)
(Click here to read the second announcement of Crown Finalists for Print News.)
(Click here to read the third announcement of Crown Finalists for Digital News.)

Sixty-five yearbook publications were chosen as Finalists for the CSPA Crown Awards to be presented in March 2016 at ceremonies in New York City.  These yearbook publications were published during the 2014-15 academic year.

The Crown Awards honor top student publications chosen from CSPA’s members.  Crowns are selected for overall excellence in a head-to-head comparison. Student publishing in news, magazine, yearbook or digital (online) formats are all eligible.  During Crown consideration, publications are judged on their excellence as shown by their design, photography, concept, coverage and writing. A total of 1,190 publications were eligible for judging.

Crown Finalists are not nominees but actual winners. Some will be announced as Gold Crowns; the rest are Silver Crowns. Final results will be announced and presented at the CSPA ceremonies in March 2016.

The CSPA offers three annual competitions to honor excellence in student publishing: Medalist Critiques for written evaluation, Crown Awards for overall excellence and Gold Circle Awards for individual student recognition.

Medalist Critiques are released on a rolling basis as completed while Crown Awards and Gold Circles are judged following seasonal deadlines in June and October. For example, Gold Circle Awards for news and magazines were released September 23 while yearbook and digital entries for individual Gold Circle Awards are not due until a final deadline of October 13. Their judging and release will be completed in February.

“We’ve changed the timing of our Crown Awards judging,” said Edmund Sullivan, CSPA’s executive director. “Magazines were judged first, to be followed by print and hybrid newspapers in early October, then digital (online) news sites in November and finally, yearbooks in early December.”  Announcements of Finalists will follow each judging with the full list complete by mid-December.

The Crown Awards require a different judging process from the CSPA’s Medalist Critiques. Regular CSPA members are invited to submit a second copy of their publication for Crown judging. From among those entries submitted, the Crown Awards are considered at Columbia by panels of invited judges, working in small groups to review each publication.

Crown Awards summarize overall excellence in the entire publication while Medalist Critiques compare each publication against a printed set of standards. In contrast, Medalist Critiques are the work of a single adviser-judge.

Crown Awards function as a “top-down” view of general excellence; Medalist Critiques offer a “bottom-up” perspective, noting specific strengths and weaknesses.

College Yearbook Finalists
Agromeck, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC;
Ibis, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL;
The Tower, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA;
Roundup, Baylor University, Waco, TX.

High School Yearbook Finalists
Above and Beyond, Robinson Secondary School, Fairfax, VA;
Accolade, Cave Spring High School, Roanoke, VA;
Calumet, Arapahoe High School, Centennial, CO;
Carillon, Bellaire High School, Bellaire, TX;
Cavalier, George Washington High School, Danville, VA;
Cayuse, Walnut High School, Walnut, CA;
Cornerstones, The Hockaday School, Dallas, TX;
El Paisano, Westlake High School, Austin, TX;
Etruscan, Glenbrook South High School, Glenview, IL;
Fentonian, Fenton High School, Fenton, MI;
Golden Images, Chaparral High School, Parker, CO;
Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village, KS;
Hornet, Bryant High School, Bryant, AR;
Indian, Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, KS;
Laconian, Salem High School, Salem, VA;
Legend, Boone High School, Orlando, FL;
Lion’s Roar, Christ Presbyterian Academy, Nashville, TN;
Lone Star, James Bowie High School, Austin, TX;
Marksmen, St. Mark’s School of Texas, Dallas, TX;
Munhintou, Gresham High School, Gresham, OR;
Nuntius, Altavista Combined School, Altavista, VA;
Odyssey, Chantilly High School, Chantilly, VA;
Pelican, Pelham Memorial High School, Pelham, NY;
Pinnacle, Carmel High School, Carmel, IN;
Pow Wow, Cheyenne Mountain High School, Colorado Springs, CO;
Pride, Franklin High School, El Paso, TX;
Rampages, Casa Roble High School, Orangevale, CA;
Saga, Loudoun Valley High School, Purcellville, VA;
Summit, Smoky Hill High School, Aurora, CO;
Taurus, Diamond Bar High School, Diamond Bar CA;
Techniques, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, Alexandria, VA;
Tesserae, Corning-Painted Post High School, Corning, NY;
The Arena, Legacy High School, Mansfield, TX;
The Buzzer, Brookville High School, Lynchburg, VA;
The Clan, McLean High School, McLean, VA;
The Claw, Arvada West High School, Arvada, CO;
The Hawk, Pleasant Grove High School, Texarkana, TX;
The Islander, Singapore American School, Singapore;    
The Lair, Lake Braddock, Burke, VA;
The Lair, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee, KS;
The Legend, Cherokee Trail High School, Aurora, CO;
The Lonestar, Vista Ridge High School, Cedar Park, TX;
The Pilot, Redondo Union High School, Redondo Beach, CA;
The Raider, Gulliver Preparatory School, Miami, FL;
Titanium, Antelope High School, Antelope, CA;
Ursus, Granite Bay High School, Granite Bay, CA;
Westwind, West Henderson High School, Hendersonville, NC;
Wings, Arrowhead Christian Academy Upper School, Redlands, CA;
Wingspan, James Enochs High School, Modesto, CA.

Middle School Yearbook Finalists
Jamboree, Toby Johnson Middle School, Elk Grove, CA;
Jr. Appalachian, Maryville Junior High School, Maryville, TN;
Lion’s Den, Hyde Middle School, Cupertino, CA;
Sentry, Robinson Middle School, Fairfax, VA;
The Prowl, Powell Middle School, Littleton CO;
Eagle Eye View, Sierra Middle School, Parker, CO;
Farrier, Mirman School, Los Angeles, CA;
Stampede, Maize South Middle, Wichita, KS;
The Nighthawk, Rocky Heights Middle School, Highlands Ranch, CO;
The Scrapbook, Westfield Middle School, Westfield, IN;
The Surfer, Coronado Middle School, Coronado, CA;
The Vespa, Kealing Middle School, Austin, TX.