Columbia Scholastic Press Association

CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, whose goal is to unite student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs.

Yearbook 2020 Crown Finalists Announced

CSPA Selects Crown Award Finalists for Yearbooks

Fourth of four announcements of Crown Finalists for 2020 Awards
View the first annoucement of digital Crown Finalists
View the second announcement of magazine Crown Finalists

View the third announcement of news Crown Finalists

Seventy-eight yearbooks print and hybrid publications were chosen as Finalists for the CSPA Crown Awards to be presented in March 2020 at ceremonies in New York City.  The yearbook print and hybrid publications were published during the 2018-19 academic year.

The Crown Awards honor top student publications chosen from CSPA’s members.  Crowns are selected for overall excellence in a head-to-head comparison. Student publishing in news, magazine, yearbook or digital (online) formats are all-eligible.  During Crown consideration, publications are judged on their excellence as shown by their design, photography, concept, coverage and writing. A total of 1,145 publications were eligible for judging.

Crown Finalists are actual winners, not nominees. Some will be announced as Gold Crowns; the rest are Silver Crowns. Final results will be announced and presented at the CSPA ceremonies in March 2020.

The CSPA offers three annual competitions to honor excellence in student publishing: Medalist Critiques for written evaluation, Crown Awards for overall excellence and Gold Circle Awards for individual student recognition.

The Crown Awards require a different judging process from the CSPA’s Medalist Critiques. Regular CSPA members are invited to submit a second copy of their publication for Crown judging. From among those entries submitted, the Crown Awards are considered at Columbia by panels of invited judges, working in small groups to review each publication.

Crown Awards summarize overall excellence in the entire publication while Medalist Critiques compare each publication against a printed set of standards. In contrast, Medalist Critiques are the work of a single adviser-judge.

Crown Awards function as a “top-down” view of general excellence; Medalist Critiques offer a “bottom-up” perspective, noting specific strengths and weaknesses.

The judging panel included: Kathy Daly, retired adviser, Denver, CO; Nancy Hastings, retired adviser, Highland, IN; Brenda Gorsuch, retired adviser, Mills River NC; Monica Hill, director of NCSMA, Chapel Hill, NC; Kevin Lerner, Assistant Professor of Communication/Journalism at Marist College in Poughkeepsie, NY; Alan Murray, president and co-founder of Uncharted, Malvern, PA; Mark Murray, director of technical services and systems integration, Arlington Independent School District, Arlington, TX; Cheryl Pell, retired professor and former press state director, East Lansing MI; Ana Rosenthal, consultant and former adviser and Kathleen Zwiebel, retired adviser, Pottsville, PA.

College Print Yearbook

Arbutus, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN;
Ibis, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL;
La Ventana, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX;
Rotunda, Southern Methodist University, Dallas, TX;
The Tower, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA.

High School, Hybrid Finalists

Hilsborean, Hillsborough High School, Tampa, FL;
Peerage, Prince George High School, Prince George, VA;
Pioneer, Kirkwood High School, Kirkwood, MO;
Tesserae, Corning-Painted Post High School, Corning, NY;
The Marauder, Marcus High School, Flower Mound, TX;

High School Print Finalists

Above and Beyond, Robinson Secondary School, Fairfax, VA;
Aerie, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Parkland, FL;
Aftermath, Palm Harbor University High School, Palm Harbor, FL;
Apollo, Colonial Forge High School, Stafford, VA;
Ayrie, Liberty North High School, Liberty, MO;
Black & Gold, Rock Canyon High School, Highlands Ranch, CO;
Caledonia, McLean High School, McLean, VA;
Calumet, Arapahoe High School, Centennial, CO;
Chieftain, Jupiter High School, Jupiter, FL;
Clamo, Clayton High School, Clayton, MO;
Clipper, Kearney High School, Kearney, MO;
Cornerstones, The Hockaday School, Dallas, TX;
Crag, Turner Ashby High School, Bridgewater, VA;
Daedalus, Northeastern High School, Manchester, PA;
Details, Whitney High School, Rocklin, CA;
Epic, Legend High School, Parker, CO;
Etruscan, Glenbrook South High School, Glenview, IL;
Golden Images, Chaparral High School, Parker, CO;
Green & Gold, West Linn High School, West Linn, OR;
Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village, KS;
Helios, Sunny Hills High School, Fullerton, CA;
Highlander, Highland Park High School, Dallas, TX;
Hornet, Bryant High School, Bryant, AR;
Indian, Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, KS;
Kodiak, Bridgeland High School, Cypress, TX;
La Vista, Mountain View High School, Mesa, AZ;
Ledoian, Aledo High School, Aledo, TX;
Lion’s Roar, Christ Presbyterian Academy, Nashville, TN;
Marksmen, St. Mark's School of Texas, Dallas, TX;
Odyssey, Chantilly High School, Chantilly, VA;
Odyssey, University High School, Orange City, FL;
Pantera, Mead High School, Spokane, WA;
Pawsehi, Parkway West High School, Ballwin, MO;
Pride, Franklin High School, Elk Grove, CA;
Reflections, Brighton High School, Brighton, CO;
Saga, Loudoun Valley High School, Purcellville, VA;
Summit, Smoky Hill High School, Aurora, CO;
Sword & Shield, Saugus High School, Santa Clarita, CA;
Techniques, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, Alexandria, VA;
The Hawk, Pleasant Grove High School, Texarkana, TX;
The Howl, Southwest Career and Technical Academy, Las Vegas, NV;
The Knight, McCallum High School, Austin, TX;
The Lair, Leander High School, Leander, TX;
The Lair, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee, KS;
The Leopard, Lovejoy High School, Lucas, TX;
The Lion, McKinney High School, McKinney, TX;
The Lonestar, Vista Ridge High School, Cedar Park, TX;
The Pilot, Redondo Union High School, Redondo Beach, CA;
Theogony, Hidden Valley High School, Cave Spring, VA;
Tiger, Texas High School, Texarkana, TX;
Tigrium, Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy, Melbourne, FL;
Titanium, Antelope High School, Antelope, CA;
Traditions, Del Norte High School, San Diego, CA;
Triune, Trinity High School, Euless, TX;
Westwind, West Henderson High School, Hendersonville, NC;
Wingspan, James Enochs High School, Modesto, CA.

Middle School Print Finalists

Eagle Eye View, Sierra Middle School, Parker, CO
Lion’s Den, Hyde Middle School, Cupertino, CA;
Oro, Cactus Canyon Junior High, Apache Junction, AZ;
Our Tale, Cimarron Middle School, Parker, CO;
Prowler, Pioneer Middle School, Tustin, CA;
Sentry, Robinson Middle School, Fairfax, VA;
The Crusader, Castle Rock Middle School, Castle Rock, CO;
The Prowl, Powell Middle School, Littleton, CO;
The Round-Up, Woodland Junior High School, Fayetteville, AR;
The Scrapbook, Westfield Middle School, Westfield, IN;
The Stinger, Brookville Middle School, Lynchburg, VA;
The Vespa, Kealing Middle School, Austin, TX.